Designing your own Fashion

So … Hey guys how are you ? today I am going to be talking about Designing your own Fashion !

I definitely have a flair for design, creating new things in my brain and putting it into practice. However I have a flaw in my clothing design I can’t sew or draw, two very important elements you need to be a clothing designer LOL … This why I haven’t as of yet succeed in this field of creative clothing design.

However as things are moving forward in the field of design I believe that everyone can achieve anything if they put their mind to it  … sometimes adapting is a necessity.

I am on the look out to move forward in this area but as of yet haven’t researched it enough to become anymore then a funny slogan T shirt designer that creates amusing vest tops that only I and I alone wear.

My brand is “To Be Continued” a clothing range but sadly that’s about as far as it’s got. My issue is that I come up with so many ideas and try to do them all at the same time. I find that I running  out of time and then things take a back burner.

As a photographer I have excelled in editorial images, many I haven’t even shared in my portfolio or in social media! Why? because I like …”The Little Bit Crazy” types of shots that a lot of others wouldn’t even consider..  I as always like to be different, I hate wearing the same clothes as others, having the same style, the same ideas and even though maybe I should take it as a compliment hate it when people try to copy my work it drives me mental .. “Why is that ?”  I hear you ask ? Well I love looking at people’s work! BUT… Their ideas, what amazing creativity they have conjured up out of Their brain!  But not work that looks like your work, or work that looks like everyone else’s work !!

I feel frustrated when people don’t have the creativeness to come up with their own ideas … That in my eyes doesn’t make you a leader it makes you a follower and who wants to be a follower in this industry? To me it would be like walking into a gallery and all the paintings, photographs and clothing pieces all looking exactly the same! Would you feel like it had been a waste of your time? I know I would feel this way.

I wouldn’t ever want to go to a photography workshop where everyone who leaves has pretty much taken the same shot as its staged!!  WHY? WHY? WHY? would you feel satisfied? knowing that isn’t your own idea, completely your own shot that doesn’t look like anyone else’s ! I know what I am saying is of course, my way of thinking! It doesnt mean that my way is the right way! as everyone feels differently on this subject.

However rightly or wrongly this is what I am like, even with clothing ? I love clothes but will always have my own style! As a clothing designer I would love to design pieces and then watch how people put them together with other pieces.  Individuality is key in my eyes. Like I said it makes you an independent creative person and I hear myself saying on a regular basis Oh … “I do love an eccentric”.

Even though many of you are aware, My wrists have been an issue for a while, operation after operation, it has had a serious effect on my creative life, meaning I have not done my photography as much as I have wished to, I am now on the mend and have started creating again.

But I also want to seriously consider the clothing design aspect, maybe incorporating photography with fabric.

So I am now going to consider how I can develop new ideas, new design and also how to adapt my brand to become something adventurous and different…

So if you are a fashion designer that can offer me any advice or fancy a collaboration on a piece.  I am on the look out for maybe a design program that can help me adapt, helping me combat my weaker areas.

As we all have our weaker areas, but does that mean we give up ? I don’t think so ….. This my friends is certainly NOT in my nature!

I 100% feel that not giving up is very important in business, helping ourselves combat these weaker areas or personal flaws improves us as individuals . It’s also how we push ourselves to improve our strengths that helps us move forward.

Thanks for reading ..

Please contact me at DurrantsDivulging@outlook.com with any helpful advice or comments on this subject. Or just for a chat I would love to hear from you all.

Until the Next Blog

Em XX

**** These are my opinions and my opinions only *******

Em Durrant

Durrant’s Divulging- Lifestyle Blogger

Leave a comment